St. Mark's Church
One of the first Anglican churches in the province, St. Mark's was begun in 1804 to serve a congregation organized twelve years earlier. It's first rector, the Reverand Robert Addison, chaplin of Upper Canada's first legislative Assembly, numbered among his parishioners Lieutenant Govenor John Simcoe, Lieutenant Colonel John Butler and Major General Isaac Brock. Completed in 1810 the church was used by the British as a hospital in 1812 and by the Americans as a barracks in 1813. Burnt by the latter, the nave was rebuilt by 1822 and the church consecrated six years later. In 1843 the structure was altered by the addition of the transepts, chancel and present Gothic Revival pulpits. Further interior alterations were made in 1892 and 1964.
Photo of Front
Photo of the side of the Church
Photo of the Rear of the Church