Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Fort Mississauga

The first lighthouse on the Great Lakes was built of stone at Point Mississauga in 1804 by John Symington, under orders from Lieutenant-Governor Peter Hunter. Demolished in 1814 to make room for this fort, it's materials with debris from the ruined town of Niagara were incorporated into this tower.

This tower and earthwork are all that survive of the barracks, guardroom, and cells of Fort Mississauga. Built between 1814 and 1816 to replace Fort George as the counterpoise to the American Fort Niagara immediately opposite, it was garrisoned until 1826. Repaired and rearmed following the rebellion of 1837, it continued to be maintained until 1854 in response to border disputes with the United States. It was manned during the tense years of the American Civil War and the Fenian scare of 1866, but by 1870 it was no longer considered of military value.

CLICK HERE for another picture of the fort.

CLICK HERE for another picture of the fort.

CLICK HERE to view the tunnel that leads through the earthworks to Lake Ontario.

CLICK HERE to see a view from the other end of the tunnel.